Living with an Existential Crisis: 2023 Edition

Is it beginning to look a lot like (that season that makes people want to be happy and together but we’re all lonely souls and the solution is to pretend your way through the month) Christmas?

My mood lately has been more Back to December than Jingle Bell Rock. But such are the mood swings of December. One day it’s about hot chocolate and Christmas carols, and another day it’s hide in your blanket and avoid the whole world.

All of 2023 was a little like December, you know. Highest of highs, lowest of lows, and everything in between. The song of the year? I will survive! So, here’s a little bit of what 2023 looked like. Don’t judge, lovelies.

– Attended 7 weddings. Not even kidding when I say that all I have done this year is played professional baraati/bridesmaid in between my standard job as a copywriter.

– Travelled a lot. Courtesy weddings and more. Also, sprained my ankle while travelling and was given princess treatment. Alwayssss travel with best friends. Also, realised that the women in my life are my soulmates and men are trash.

– Continued my lifelong struggle with food, diet culture, and more, while trying my best to love myself despite and my body.

– Did not write at all. Work doesn’t count. No excuses, it wasn’t fair. 2024 shall be better.

– Read 28 books, saw about 35 shows, multiple movies, and tried my best to dance at least once a week. Lesson learnt? Always do things you love.

– Felt so old, stupid, embarrassed, crazy, weirded out, sad, livid, and everything else I can’t put into words. Nothing spells ‘what a year’ like all of these feelzzzz.

I can go on and on because it was one hell of a year. I don’t want to. 2024 is going to be the year I try to do all of this, all over again. Maybe not all of it. But we try, we live, and we make the most of everything that life throws at us. Lemons, lemonade, tequila, lemon pie, and all that jazz. Here’s hoping you’re doing the same. ❤️

Love,
The Holly, Jolly, Blabberer.

Leave a comment